How I Learned to Love Puppies

ALERT. Today is National Puppy Day. This can only mean two things: 1) story time, and 2) puppy videos.

When I was 3-years-old, a crazily-enormous dog chased me through an orange orchard. You read that right, WordPress friends. I was minding my own business on my great-uncle’s farm, and this beast came out of nowhere. I don’t even know how I escaped. What I do know is that it scarred me for (10 years of my) life.

For the next decade, I fled from any dog I encountered. It didn’t help that I was once also chased by a rather territorial Rottweiler when I was in elementary school. I was just going on a walk with my mom and brother through my neighborhood, and this dog jumped over its fence and darted after us. I ran the entire way home. Once again, I have no idea how I escaped. What I do know is that I avoided that side of the neighborhood the same way that most kids avoided Boo Radley’s house in To Kill a Mockingbird.

I finally overcame my fear after hearing my mom tell lots of stories about the American Eskimo dog she had growing up (the dog went by the rather cliche name Lassie). After years of hearing these stories, I decided dogs could a) be sweet, b) be intelligent, c) be worthy of my love.

After much convincing, my parents agreed to let me get a puppy. More than 10 years later, people still mistake my dog for a puppy – not only because of his size, but also because of his playful personality. He’s the best dog in the entire world. He thinks he’s a human, he has a security blanket (a squeaky toy frog), and he enjoys drinking spilt frappuchinos, omelets, and cornflakes. He’s a weirdo, and I love him.

As promised, here is a video of puppies (Maltese puppies to be specific) being adorable little fluffballs.

Leave a Reply

