8 Apps That Transformed My iPhone Experience

Compared to other people, my iPhone is a dull and rather empty device. About half of its 32GB capacity remains unused, and the large chunk that is used is filled with music. In other words, I have very few apps. BUT the few apps I do have are rather magnificent, if I do say so myself.

Here are some apps that I love that I think you might love too, especially if you love playing around with the photos you take with your phone. If you have a favorite app that you think is similar or better than these, comment down below! I’m looking to expand my app collection. : )

RHONNA DESIGNSrhonna
I use this app ALL. THE. TIME. It’s a beautiful photo and text editing program that lets you customize your photos with cute graphics, texts, and filters. It’s got a fair amount of free text packages (with about three dozen fonts), and tons of retro banners and icons. I think this was once a free “app of the week” on iTunes, but I’m not sure if it is still free now. Even if it’s not, I promise it’s worth the investment.

picjointerPIC JOINTER
Forget Picstitch. I am in love with this free photo collage app. It lets you adjust the dimensions of the overall photo (1 x 1, 4 x 3, 3 x 4, and 3 x 2), the thickness of the border, and the color of the border. It even lets you adjust the dimensions of the spaces in the overall photo so you can fit your photos accordingly. No more restraining borders!

HEADSPACE
This is technically a free meditation app that includes ten free 10-minute guided meditation sessions. I use this when I am having trouble falling asleep, and while that may not be the stated purpose of the app, it works for me!

After your ten sessions are up, you have the option to go online and buy more, or you can just start the sessions all over again. I’ve gone with the latter, and so far so good. P.S. This is also known as the “Get Some Headspace” app in the App Store.

STARBUCKS
It shocks me how few people have this free app. Not only is it a wonderful way to instantly find the closest Starbucks, but it also gives you access to a new free app download every week and a new free song download every week. Not to mention if you have a Starbucks gift card, it keeps track of your purchases (after a certain amount you get a free drink or food item!) and lets you refill the card. If you don’t already have a gift card, get one (even with just $5 on it) and register it online. You’re automatically up for a free drink (any kind, any size) on your birthday!

PICLAB HD
The older brother of free photo-editing app, PicLab, PicLab HD ($1.99) is similar to Rhonna Designs, but has different fonts, is capable of pulling multiple images into the photo you’re creating, and lets you curve, distort, and drop shadow your text. It also lets you alter the brightness, contrast, and focus of the photo and add funky elements like light effects. The only downside to this app is that you can’t rearrange the order of the layers, which is pretty annoying when you suddenly decide you want to include a banner behind some text.

REDBOX
This may seem like an odd app to have in the age of Netflix, but I’ve used it many a time when I wanted to know where the closest Redbox was and what movies it had. This app lets you look at exactly which DVDs and games are available in a particular kiosk, and you can even reserve the ones you want. Plus, you can see what new movies are coming to Redbox soon – all from the comfort of your own house.

PICFX
This is one free app I got my hands on through the Starbucks app (see, I told you it was worth it!). PicFx is essentially a massive collection of filters, ranging from black and white to textures to grunge to frames. It adds a nice extra touch to some photos, and similar to Adobe Photoshop, it allows you to adjust the opacity of the filter and add multiple filters in order to achieve the look you want.

NOTABILITY
I can’t remember if I found this because it was an “app of the week” or merely because I was aimlessly surfing through the App Store. In any event, this is an app that is essentially “Notes” on steroids. You can change the font, color, and size of text, add photos with captions, draw squiggles, and highlight important stuff. When you’re done, you can share or save the document easily as a PDF, through connections to Google Drive, and more. Pretty handy, although it’s probably easier to use on an iPad compared to an iPhone.

2 thoughts on “8 Apps That Transformed My iPhone Experience

Leave a Reply

