Delayed Reactions: Best Dressed at the 2014 Emmy Awards

So, this post comes a week late. I’ve been so exhausted after work lately that I’ve been rather lax when it comes to this blog. But better late than never. Here are my 12 favorite looks from this year’s awards, along with my snarky observations and useless knowledge.

emmys1

CLAIRE DANES in GIVENCHY (via Hollywood Life),
KERRY WASHINGTON in head-to-toe PRADA (via Hollywood Life),
JANUARY JONES in PRABAL GURUNG (via Buzzfeed)

For some reason, I always get January Jones and Claire Danes confused, and now their red dresses have only made me double-take even more. I love both dresses, but Claire wins in a fashion-face off, mainly because of her fabulous hair (January, what in the world are your bangs doing?! They look like straw).

I was a bit on the fence about Kerry Washington’s ensemble. I love the Olivia-Pope-approved nod to Prada, but the silver sparkles on the dress make it look like something a pre-teen beauty pageant contestant would wear. However, I soon hopped off the fence because I think the random black panel is beautifully edgy, and Kerry’s hair and makeup are divine.

emmys2

NATALIE DORMER in J. MENDEL (via Buzzfeed)
TEYONAH PARRIS in CHRISTIAN SIRIANO (via Buzzfeed),
SARAH HYLAND in CHRISTIAN SIRIANO (via Buzzfeed)

Look at all the fun color blocking! Also, nobody is more shocked than me that Sarah Hyland ended up on my best dressed list. She looks like a complete fashion trainwreck on Instagram, so I was pleasantly surprised to see how chic she looked on the red carpet.

Teyonah Parris (a.k.a. Dawn, Don Draper’s secretary on “Mad Men”) looks fabulous in this neon dress, and her whole look is so drastically different than her 60’s style on the show that I didn’t even recognize her at first!

emmys3

KIERNAN SHIPKA in ANTONIO BERARDI (via Buzzfeed),
KATE WALSH in STEPHANE ROLLAND COUTURE (via Hollywood Life),
MICHELLE DOCKERY in ROSIE ASSOULIN (via Yahoo!)

Some of the more unique looks on the carpet. Kiernan Shipka is one of my fashion icons – and she’s only 15 years old! She is so poised and fashion-forward, and despite starring on a show like “Mad Men” for so many years, she seems to be so grounded (in other words, the complete opposite of somebody like Miley Cyrus or Lindsay Lohan). #GirlCrush

emmys4

LIZZY CAPLAN in DONNA KARAN ATELIER (via Yahoo!)
MELISSA McCARTHY in (via Buzzfeed)
LENA HEADEY in RUBIN SINGER (via Buzzfeed)

Janice Ian from “Mean Girls” sure does clean up nice! Lizzy Caplan’s dress was probably my second favorite look of the night (after Kiernan Shipka’s). The white train was an awesome touch. Also, this is the best Melissa McCarthy has ever looked. This gothic-looking ball gown is too pretty!

2 thoughts on “Delayed Reactions: Best Dressed at the 2014 Emmy Awards

Leave a Reply

